18 Comments

Definitely Diamond Head in Hawaii. I wasn't climbing mountains back then, but you can get high enough to get a fantastic view just by hiking some trails.

Expand full comment

I used to live on top of a hill in San Francisco. I’d just moved there from across the country, after planning and saving up for five years. It had the most incredible view of the city, and the bay just beyond it. Waking up and coming home to that view always brightened my mood. It was beautiful, for starters. But it was also a constant reminder of how far I’d come, how my dream had finally come true. Plus, it was a great place to watch fireworks (I loved seeing the ones that went off at the ballpark whenever the Giants won).

Here it is: https://share.icloud.com/photos/0acEV5zPC17lYEHahvGOI0ZJw

Expand full comment
May 21, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

I would add a picture to this, but your view and mine are the same.

Expand full comment

Kenia Peninsula Alaska . A little spot called Arrow Rock.

Expand full comment
May 21, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

Pelican lake in Mini-🥤

Expand full comment
May 21, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

I was doing a university project about some of the dark sky preservation work that’s been done in Westcliffe, a little town in southwestern Colorado. I was heading out to hopefully get some good astrophotography and see how the town had done a bunch of their lighting, and the moment when I drove over the last hill of the Wet Mountains on 96 and saw the massive *wall* of the Sangre de Cristo peaks rising from the valley… absolutely awe-inspiring, I think I was just wordlessly yelling in my car. Haha. Haven’t managed yet to take a photo that does it justice, but maybe someday.

Expand full comment

I lived in the South West of France for 4 years and had a couple of nice hikes in the Pyrénées and Alps.

I will send you a couple of pics by email.

Expand full comment