19 Comments

Oooh. I’m currently breaking in new boots (although why Han Wag’s marketing team called them Bunions, I don’t know) ahead of my November Everest Base Camp walk. Currently trying out lots of layering strategies on every walk. Maybe we should collaborate on a women’s trekking kit list!

Expand full comment

I’ve only camped once and it was in April by the beach. I’d say I’m darn good at prepping. I even had a pair of tweezers that came in handy when my husband touched a cactus (on purpose). What are some essential items for winter that differ from spring camping?

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

What's the best way to break in hiking boots? Where to buy...good brand recommendations when on a budget?

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

Can you go over what gear you bring on trips specifically for emergency situations? What pieces of equipment do you carry at all times to prepare for worst case scenarios (i.e. severe injury, instances where rescue is needed)?

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Cole Noble

If your backpacking or just packing for an outdoors trip, are there certain things you should have closest to the top of the pack for easier access? What, if any, should you leave strapped on the outside of the pack?

Expand full comment

When do you need and not need spikes to hike in winter? Is there a brand you prefer? This debate has come up a few times in my life lately.

Expand full comment